## Arizona Territory Timeline

Year	United States Highlights	Arizona Territory Highlights	Year
1803	Pres. Thomas Jefferson, Rep. Louisiana Purchase	Arizona part of New Spain	1803
1821	Pres. James Monroe, Rep.	Mexican Independence. Arizona now part of Mexico	1821
1845	Pres. James K. Polk, Dem. Sec. Of State James Buchanan United States War with Mexico		
1848	Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo	The land containing what is now Arizona north of the Gila River ceded to the United States by Mexico.	1848
1849	California Gold Rush		
1850	Pres. Zachary Taylor, Whig Compromise Act of 1850	The Territory of New Mexico   formalized. This includes most of what   we now know as Arizona. Capital is at   Santa Fe. Tucson still part of Mexico.	1850
1851	Pres. Millard Fillmore, Whig	Fort Defiance established in NE Arizona	1851
1853	Gadsden Purchase	Land south of the Gila River (to modern borders of Arizona) obtained prior to the construction of the southern transcontinental railroad.	1853

1856	Pres. Franklin Pierce, Dem.	Tucson Convention petitioned Congress to establish separate territory of Arizona	1856
		Butterfield Overland Stage begins operation across Arizona	1858
1861	Pres. Abraham Lincoln, Rep. Sec. of State W.H. Seward Sec. of Interior Caleb Smith <i>War Between the States</i>		
1862	Hon. James H. Ashley, Ohio. Chairman of the House Committee on Territories Arizona Organic Act introduced in House of Representatives in December	Confederate Territory of Arizona officially proclaimed Feb 14 <sup>th</sup> ; John R. Baylor, Governor. Mesilla capital. Civil War skirmish at Picacho Pass.	1862
1863	Pres. Abraham Lincoln Sec. Of Interior John P. Usher	Lincoln signs statute Feb. 24 <sup>th</sup> creating the Territory of Arizona. Gov. John A. Gurley dies on route; Gov. John N. Goodwin Sec. Richard C. McCormick Del. Charles D. Poston Fort Whipple 1 <sup>st</sup> capital	1863
		Territorial capital moved to Prescott Four counties created (Yuma, Mohave, Yavapai & Pima)	1864

1865	Pres. Andrew Johnson, Dem. Sec. of State William H. Seward Sec. of Interior John P. Usher Sec. of Interior James Harlan	Del. John N. Goodwin	1865
1866	Sec. of Interior O.H. Browning	Gov. Richard C. McCormick Sec. James P.T. Carter Del. Coles Bashford "Lost" Pah-Ute County transferred to Nevada	1866
		Territorial capital moved to Tucson	1867
1869	Pres. Ulysses S. Grant, Rep. Sec. of State E. B. Washburne Sec. of State Hamilton Fish Sec. of Interior Jacob D. Cox	Gov. Anson P.K. Safford Sec. Coles Bashford Del. R. C. McCormick	1869
1870	Sec. of Interior C. Delano	Phoenix surveyed	1870
1875	Sec. of Interior Zachary Chandler	Del. Hiram S. Stevens First major copper production in Arizona	1875
		Sec. John P. Hoyt	1876
1877	Pres. Rutherford B. Hayes, Rep. Sec. of State W. M. Evarts Sec. of Interior Carl Schurz Desert Land Act	Gov. John P. Hoyt Sec. John J. Gosper Territorial capital moved to Prescott	1877

		Gov. John C. Fremont	1878
		Del. John G. Campbell	1879
1881	Pres. James A. Garfield, Rep. Sec. of State James G. Blaine Sec. of Interior S. J. Kirkwood		
1881	Pres. Chester A. Arthur, Rep. Sec. of State F. T. Frelinghuyson Sec. of Interior Henry M. Teller	Del. Granville H. Oury	1881
		Gov. Frederick A. Tritle Sec. H. M. Van Arman	1882
		1 <sup>st</sup> Territorial Fair, Phoenix	1884
1885	Pres. Grover Cleveland, Dem. Sec. of State Thomas F. Bayard Sec. of Interior L. Q. C. Lamar	Gov. Conrad M. Zulick Sec. James Bayard Del. Curtis C. Bean	1885
		Del. Marcus A. Smith	1887
1889	Pres. Benjamin Harrison, Rep. Sec. of State James G. Blaine Sec. of Interior John W. Nobel	Gov. Lewis Wolfey Capital moved to Phoenix	1889
		Gov. John Irwin	1890
1892	Sec. of State John W. Foster	Gov. Nathan O. Murphy Sec. Nathan A. Morford Kibbey Decision	1892

1893	Pres. Grover Cleveland, Dem. Sec. of State W. Q. Gresham Sec. of Interior Holk Smith	Gov. Louis C. Hughes Sec. Charles M. Bruce	1893
1895	Sec. of State Richard Olney Sec. of Interior D. R. Francis	Del. Nathan O. Murphy	1895
		Gov. Benjamin J. Franklin	1896
1897	Pres. William McKinley, Rep. Sec. of State John Sherman Sec. of State William R. Day Sec. of Interior C. N. Bliss	Gov. Myron H. McCord Sec. Charles H. Akers Del. Marcus A. Smith	1897
1898	Sec. of State John Hay	Gov. Nathan O. Murphy	1898
1899	Sec. of Interior E. A. Hitchcock	De. John F. Wilson	1899
		Territorial Capitol building opened	1900
1901	Pres. Theodore Roosevelt, Rep. Sec. of State John Hay	Sec. Isaac T. Stoddard Del. Marcus A. Smith	1901
1902	Handsbrough-Newlands Act (National Reclamation Act)	Gov. Alexander O. Brodie Suggestion for joint statehood of Arizona & New Mexico creates years of quarreling	1902
		Del. John F. Wilson Salt River Valley Water User's Association formed	1903
		Sec. William F. Nichols	1904

1905	Sec. of State Elihu Root	Gov. Joseph H. Kibbey Del. Marcus A. Smith	1905
		Cornerstone of Tonto (Roosevelt) Dam laid	1906
1907	Sec. of Interior J. R. Garfield		
		Sec. John H. Page	1908
1909	Pres. William H. Taft, Rep. Sec. of State P.C. Knox Sec. of Interior R. A. Ballinger	Gov. Richard E. Sloan Sec. George U. Young Del. Ralph H.C. Cameron	1909
1910	Arizona Enabling Act passed by Congress	Constitutional Convention convenes	1910
1911	Sec. of Interior W. L. Fisher	Theodore Roosevelt dedicates Tonto (Roosevelt) Dam	1911
1912	Pres. William H. Taft, Rep.	Arizona becomes the 48 <sup>th</sup> state Feb.	1912